He Was Joyous

7 Mar

Aunt Beulah

Ernie on the river Whenever Ernie laughed, he did so with his entire body, a knee-slapping, unrestrained, booming cackle that invited others to join the every-minute-of-every-day party he hosted for anybody who wandered by.

But eating corn on the cob made Ernie more philosophical: the more gnawed cobs, the more profound his utterances. During a six-cob session, he said the best thing about being old was no longer worrying about the expectations of others, but doing what he wanted. Furthermore, when he did so, people usually expressed amazement and appreciation.

Since his favorite activities were drinking beer and singing scandalous songs he learned in the Navy, I could believe people expressed amazement.

“I’m easier on myself now I’m old and retired,” he continued “I’m finally free to do things because I want to, not because I’m proving something to myself or others. At 68, I’m 200 pounds of blue-toned steel, and I can pee…

View original post 249 more words

2 Responses to “He Was Joyous”

  1. Aunt Beulah March 7, 2014 at 6:45 pm #

    Thank you for reblogging my post about Ernie. He was one of many, including Great Aunt Beulah, who showed me how to live life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

